To live is the rarest thing in the world, most people exist, that is all.


This is one of my favourite quotes, It resonates deeply. I love finding a quote that you can apply to your own life. I find that you can take any quote and depending on your situation, it will just fit somehow, that’s the beauty of language and literature. I’ve taken more time to realise the smaller things in life now that i’ve had no choice but to slow down and take it all in. I’ve realised how each situation can be seen from two aspects; if someone close to you passes away, is it sad that you’ve lost someone, or is it a chance to realise the joy they brought in to your life?
I think each person is the only one who can determine how their life pans out, it’s all about attitude and outlook. Glass half full, glass half empty kinda thing? I once asked a friend this question and her answer still makes me smile today, she took a while to think about it and answered with, “it depends how it’s poured.” I thought this was a bloody brilliant answer! She captures my thought on life perfectly. Two people can have two different outcomes from one situation. For example: if someone is rejected from a job, do they sulk, and blame the world for their failings. Or do they ask the company what they can improve on, and have a new piece of knowledge for their next interview? It’s all about your own personal outlook. I can’t blame anyone for what happened to me, and why would I? I see it this way: yes, I spent two years of my life not really existing, but now I have the knowledge that I need to make every moment count. Yes, I now have an ileostomy bag, but this means I can eat pretty much whatever I want and I’ve learned now more than ever not to judge a book by it’s cover. Yes, I spent almost two months in hospital, but I’ve seen how hard people are willing to work when they see someone who needs them. Just remember, when you’re all cosied up for Christmas with your family and friends, there will be some people who are in a hospital bed, stitched, bruised and punctured, and there are those individuals that are working hard to care for these people. There are the nurses, doctors, paramedics, police men, firemen…they all base their careers on caring for others, I think that is extremely admirable. I’m not religious, and I don’t believe you come back after you die, so I’m going to make the most out of this life that I have now. Of course if I want to be sad and take a while to feel sorry for myself I will, because that is all in the process of healing. But the most important thing is that I realise how lucky I am to be alive and cherish every moment.
I want to thank everyone again for reading my blog, I’ve had almost 1000 views since I started it and I am honestly completely overwhelmed by the support I have received. To give you a little update, I am doing well since my last little op. My stomach is still a little tender at moments, especially when I sneeze! But I haven’t taken a painkiller in almost a week! Which is the first week in three years I’ve managed to wake up and not take something to dull my aches and pains, it feels magnificent. Paddy is growing tremendously, he can now reach the living room table, so cakes, biscuits and other culinary delights are now unsafe at these lower levels. His lovely little face when he bounds towards you in the morning is enough reason to wake up as the thought of eating breakfast without pain is!
I must say, without sounding pretentious I am very much in love with life and the little gifts it throws my way.

Thank you again for reading, and remember; to live is the rarest thing in the world, most people exist, that is all.

are you really living?

One thought on “To live is the rarest thing in the world, most people exist, that is all.

  1. I don’t really know what to say. I am truly in awe of what you write and more importantly how you write it. I am in no doubt anyone who reads this will be taking a good hard look at themselves. I wish you all the luck in the world xx

Leave a Reply

